Resources to Improve Your Health
- Local Harvest Rutherford County
- Rutherford County Farmers market
- Stones River market
- Main Street Saturday market
- Tennessee Farmers Markets
- My Plate – Dietary Guidelines
- Different Methods of Cooking
- Proper cooking temperatures
- Nutritional practices
- Murfreesboro Community Garden
- Sources of locally produced foods - Community Supported Agriculture (CSA)
Environmentally Sound Community
- Community sustainability
- Locally sourced consumable products
- Recycle, Reduce, Reuse- Recycle Rutherford
- Environmental Education
- Public Transportation link
- Giving back to the community through Volunteering
Accessible Fitness Activities
- Walking Trails
- Cycling Routes
- Murfreesboro Bike Club
- Equestrian Trails
- Walking Safe Practices
- Tennessee Pedestrian Laws- Under Tennessee law, Pedestrians have the right of way at al intersections and driveways. However, pedestrians must act responsibly, using pedestrian signals and sidewalks where they are available. When crossing the road at any point other than a marked crosswalk or unmarked crosswalk at an intersection, a pedestrian has a statutory duty to yield the right of way to all vehicles on the roadway. It is the duty of pedestrians to look before starting across a highway, and in the exercise of reasonable care for their own safety, to keep a timely lookout for approaching motor vehicle traffic. On roadways where there is no sidewalk, pedestrians should always walk facing traffic.
- Cycling Safe Practices
- Tennessee Bicycle Laws- In Tennessee, a bicycle has the legal status of a vehicle. This means that bicyclists have full rights and responsibilities on the roadway and are subject to the regulations governing the operation of a motor vehicle. Tennessee traffic laws require bicyclist to:
- Ride on the right-hand side of the road. The same direction as traffic.
- Obey all traffic signs and signals.
- Use hand signals to communicate intended movements.
- Equip their bicycles with a front white light visible from 500 feet and either a red reflector or a lamp emitting a red light which shall be visible from a distance of at least 5oo feet to the rear.
- In addition, the TN Child Bicycle Act requires that:
- All bicycle operators under 16 years of age must wear a helmet on any highway, street or sidewalk.
- All child passengers under 40 pounds or 40 inches must be seated and secured in a child restraining seat or a bicycle trailer.