Government Structure

The City operates under a Council-Manager form of government. The governing body is the City Council, which consists of a Mayor and six council members.  The City Council is responsible for adopting ordinances, the annual budget, appointing committees and establishing policies. The City Council appoints a City Manager, who has the day-to-day responsibility of operating the City.  Through various departments, the City Manager is responsible for providing and maintaining the essential services of the City. The City employs approximately 987 full-time and 400 part-time employees. The employees are managed through a structured personnel and administrative system, coordinated by the City Manager.

The City’s administrative structure aligns coordination of processes and workflow through seven divisions:   

  • Community Services: Communications, Golf, Parks & Recreation, and Strategic Partnerships
  • Development Services: Building & Codes, Community Development, and Planning
  • Fire and Rescue
  • Police
  • Public Infrastructure: Airport, Engineering, and Transportation
  • Public Works: Fleet, Solid Waste, and Streets
  • Water Resources

Org Chart july 2020