News Flash Home
The original item was published from 5/10/2018 9:39:44 AM to 6/11/2018 12:00:01 AM.

News Flash

City News

Posted on: May 10, 2018

[ARCHIVED] Murfreesboro City Schools celebrates outstanding employees

Murfreesboro City Schools

Murfreesboro City Schools honored its Employees of the Year at a special ceremony this week. Forty-six staff members received recognition as support staff of the year and departmental employee of the year. Support staff from each school and departments were nominated by their peers or supervisor for this recognition.

“This recognition was a great opportunity to celebrate the work of these individuals as they continuously demonstrate the best instructional and support practices for students,” says Ralph Ringstaff, Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources and ESP.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Black Fox Principal Joe Thompson. Mr. Thompson began his teaching career in 1975 and joined MCS in 1980. He has served as a teacher, assistant principal and principal during his tenure. During his leadership, Black Fox has received numerous awards and accolades including the Value-Added Achievement Designation.

Ernest Victory received The Helping Hand Award for his years of using his skills in woodworking to create and design numerous projects throughout the district. Mr. Victory has built bookcases, cabinets, trophy cases and library shelves along with many other specialized pieces for schools during his years of service.

“It is an honor to celebrate the people who form the foundation of Murfreesboro City Schools. It is through their hard work, high expectations and positive mindsets that children and the future are being forever changed," says Dr. Linda Gilbert. “We are indeed grateful for their dedication and leadership in meeting the needs of our students.”

Other Distinguished Employee of the Year nominees:

Educational Assistants of the Year:

Sharon Robeson – Black Fox

Leinaala Bautista – Bradley Academy

Sheba Cantrell – Cason Lane

Susan Barrett – Discovery

Jean Sanders – Erma Siegel

Riley Clark – Hobgood

Mark Parsley – John Pittard

Maria Rosales – Mitchell-Neilson Primary

Felecia Ruse – Mitchell-Neilson Elementry

Julie Glinn – Northfield

Malinda Perdzock – Overall Creek

Amanda Ring – Reeves-Rogers

Ashley Kaus – Scales

Special Education Assistants of the Year:

Wanda Robbins – Black Fox

Jennifer Smith – Bradley

Kim Creager – Cason Lane

Shontay Woods – Erma Siegel

Bre Carpenter – Hobgood

LuAnn Fox – Mitchell-Neilson Primary

Debbie Pulido – Mitchell- Neilson Elementary

Jennifer Wallace – Northfield

Marsha Chapman – Reeves-Rogers

Alyssa Miracle – Scales

Departmental Employees of the Year:

Tayana Fish – Maintenance

Mike Prater – Maintenance

Jerry Neely – Substitute Teacher

Travis Simmons – Technology

Rosa Castellon – Custodial Day Shift

Kristian Smith – Custodial Night Shift

Irma Ramos – Black Fox Cafeteria

Hope North – Bradley Cafeteria

Monica Evans – Cason Lane Cafeteria

Sheila Powell – Discovery Cafeteria

Karen Jones – Erma Siegel Cafeteria

Nancy Martinez – Hobgood Cafeteria

Jack Sawyers – John Pittard Cafeteria

Angela Greer – Mitchell-Neilson Cafeteria

Suhaila Elayah – Northfield Cafeteria

Jennifer Dawson – Overall Creek Cafeteria

Melanie Whitaker – Reeves-Rogers Cafeteria

Diane Holmes – Scales Cafeteria

Teresa Davenport – Cafeteria Manager

Teresa Crouch – Bus Driver

Cedric Whitfield – Bus Assistant

Jennifer Lanier – Nurse

McKala Rollins – ESP

Teachers of the Year as well as thirteen retirees were also honored at the Wednesday night program. The program was designed to promote recognition, respect and appreciation for staff members at Murfreesboro City Schools.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in City News

Ice Snow Slow

City prepared for winter ice and snow

Posted on: December 21, 2022